Business name : Clarence River Yacht Club

even though the membership became formally fashioned in 1944, crusing changed into constantly part of the Clarence River. From the early cedar getters who sailed up the Clarence at the schooner ‘Susan’ until the present day crusing boats have not best been a important transport link however an ever-famous leisure interest. As testament to the latter, the huge River has spawned at the least crusing golf equipment and yacht golf equipment.

previous to the second one global war there were some of sailing boats inside the Grafton place – cedar and pine skiffs, flat bottomed punt like boats and even fishing boats with sails. before these people had a hazard to shape a properly organised club the struggle intervened and maximum of these boats had been impounded and left to rot in a paddock close to Calliope. A sad stop for such a lot of boats.

an ordinary boat of this period turned into the cedar planked skiff ‘DY’ pictured under. ‘DY’ was owned by neighborhood Allan Jackson and become sailed regularly at the river.and saved it moored on the cease of Duke road – close to the old baths. it is thrilling to observe that ‘DY’ become the boat wherein club stalwart Salty Sellar had his advent to sailing. The story goes that Allan and a few pals were sailing one weekend after they noticed a younger chap in a canoe close by. They supplied him a journey within the crusing boat – his first. That young chap became Salty and that experience in all likelihood began closer to the cease of the conflict some of boats had been crusing on the river greater or less as social outings, but they used to satisfy out on the river and ultimately the competitve urge prevailed and they decided to form a crusing club to organise some The club’s first meeting was held beneath a avenue mild in Duke avenue, Grafton in 1944 and a committe turned into elected. The founding officers have been WM Newman (president), KC (Salty) seller (treasurer) and JB Murdock
by means of 1945 boat storage had come to be a real problem and whilst a flood washed away the Scout’s shed, it become decided to use to the council to erect a shed near the bridge at the present web page. Permission was granted on 5th October 1945 and with generous donations from local corporations and a exquisite deal of voluntary labour from club participants the brand new shed was finished by using August 1947.

The shed was constructed on piers made from vintage railway sleepers driven into the mud on the river’s part. At excessive tide water flowed under the ground of the shed. there has been no grass rigging place at that time. Boats were launched via a wooden ramp – additionally product of vintage railway sleepers.